Engagement

This past March we took a trip to beautiful Marco Island, Florida with my family. For the first time in our three years of college, our spring breaks matched up and we were able to have a week together. We spent the morning relaxing in the spa and the afternoon playing volleyball on the beach. That night we went to dinner at an Italian restaurant on the ocean. It was absolutely the best food I’ve ever tasted and by far the nicest place I’ve ever been. As always, we spent the whole night laughing and it was a perfect night with the family! When we got back, my dad realized he left his credit card at the restaurant. He called ahead and then asked Isaac and Tony if they’d run back to pick it up. Believe it or not, this actually is a common occurrence in my family, so I thought nothing of it. Meanwhile, the boys are really down on the beach…

It was a gorgeous full moon that night and so we decided to take a walk on the beach to and have the boys meet us when they got back. When I got down to the beach, I saw a path of tiki torches. At this point I knew something was happening. At the first torch there was a little gold treasure chest with a compass, a coin, and a map telling me to follow the torches. So very pirates of the Caribbean! The next one had a single rose waiting and the one after that was a poem he had written about our whole relationship. It reminded me of the letters we would write during his summer at basic training. The last line was “Maddie will you marry me?”

Image

ImageImage

 

Image

When I got to the last torch, he was standing there with a bouquet of roses. He gave me a big hug and asked if I was okay. As we stood there under the stars, in tears, disbelief, and excitement, I watched him get down on one knee and ask me to marry him!! It was so unbelievably special. He really thought out and incorporated every single thing he knows I love. My family was there to see the whole thing and walk with me through it all. It was truly the best night of my life! We are so in love and so excited to start our lives together!

 

Love > Distance

 

ImageImage

Image

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

